Toko, Surry Hills

toko

toko

Location:  490 Crown St, Surry Hills NSW 2010

Menu: Modern Japanese Fine Dining

Prices: Tasting menus start from $78- $100pp, mains start at around $25-30 and onwards.

Recommended Dishes: Items from the ‘Robata grill‘ section of the menu get the thumbs up and I really liked the kohituji to yasai suzuke zoe (marinated lamb cutlets, chilli miso, pickled eggplant). For dessert, the torokeru chocolato to hazelnut no fondant (chocolate and hazelnut fondant, milk ice cream) is to die for.

Summary: Toko in Surry Hills is a well-known establishment serving modern Japanese dishes. Feeling a bit more fancy than usual, my boyfriend and I decided to give this place a try having heard plenty of good reviews about both Toko and Tokonoma (the sister restaurant/lounge next door).

The restaurant is very dark inside, filled with business-people and couples alike. The service was adequate, however, the waiters seem more attentive to the older, ‘more-important’ looking customers around me and it did take me a while to flag anyone down if I needed assistance, which was a downside of my experience and I attributed this to the fact that I was much younger than my neighbouring patrons. However, the presentation of the dishes and the ingredients were superb and I particularly enjoyed most, if not all, of the dishes that I had ordered. Dessert was also a simple yet enjoyable dish.

Note: A fair warning, I previously worked at Sokyo Japanese Restaurant at The Star which is quite similar to Toko, so my judgement may be a bit shrouded by my unwavering love for Sokyo, which I believe everyone should try! 
Toko Restaurant & Bar on Urbanspoon

  • Toko (tastebudsadventure.wordpress.com)
Share your thoughts

